Watermelon Woman


Missing my son
June 30, 2006, Friday,2:03 pm
Filed under: Family

All parents know eventually their children will become adults and leave the nest. There are variations on how this is done and sometimes a little nudge is required. My “baby” left for an extended time to work in another country. He is having a great time (one assumes) and apparently doesn’t need money (no frantic call yet) and isn’t the least homesick.

I, however, miss his voice, his laugh, his teasing and his presence. I find myself tearing up when least expected. Sigh. Time to take up an unusual hobby or run a marathon. I doubt it will ease the pain in my heart.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sorry to hear that your son is working or travelling elsewhere but it is an essential part of growing up, I believe that hardship and adversity make the man and if your son never leaves, he will never be a man. In a nutshell, some amount of suffering is good! Hopefully he will come back stronger and better for being away.

Comment by rockwatching




Leave a Reply

