Watermelon Woman


Seeds
February 2, 2008, Saturday,11:25 pm
Filed under: Gardening, Vegetables, watermelons | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve ordered most of my seeds for 2008 from Baker Street Heirloom Seeds.

Included in my order are watermelons of course. I trying some varieties that are new to me and hopefully will be ready earlier than some of the standards. Black-tail Mountain is 70 days; Melitopolski, a Russian variety doesn’t list the number of days, but coming from Russia, one suspects that it will be. Ali Baba is not short, 100 days, but its claim to fame is the flavor.

Tomato selections were Cuor di Bue, Sioux, Old Virginia, Flame (aka Hillbilly), plus some plum varieties.  I have also purchased carrots, okra, baby greens, green beans, black-eyed peas and corn. Corn will be a first. I picked a 5-foot variety. Oh and sunflowers. I had great success with them last summer and they last forever. I picked and picked for the house and still had plenty to please the eye in the garden.

I deciding on what varieties of apples to purchase. I want to try espaliers to cut down on the space requirements.

It has been raining forever here in sunny California so the ground is just as wet as can be.   I do like rain but, it is getting old now.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

