Watermelon Woman


Five out of six
August 13, 2009, Thursday,6:20 pm
Filed under: Books, health, ovarian cancer | Tags: , , , , ,

Today I had my fifth chemotherapy session.

I started a new-to-me book called, “Soprano Sorceress” by L.E. Modesitt, Jr. This is the first book of the Spellsong Cycle. In this fantasy Anna, a divorced, non-tenured, soprano singer was in the wrong place at the wrong time or right place at the right time depending on what happens when she is conjured by singing sorceress in another world (dimension?). Erde is an earth-like planet with big problems. A fight between darksongs and clearsongs is threatening to cause chaos on Erde by controlling the weather and thus food supply (among other dire possibilities, I’m sure.)

I’m not very far into the book, but Anna is a very appealing character, smart and spunky and fast on her feet–a very good quality given she is a songmaster, whether she wants to be or not.

The book kept me involved and not thinking about where I was. Good deal all around.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

