Watermelon Woman


Wind, Rain, Sleet, Hail, Thunder and Snow
January 22, 2010, Friday,8:31 pm
Filed under: flowers, Gardening, ovarian cancer, seeds, weather | Tags: , ,

The weather was quite something today. We had wind, rain, sleet, hail and thunder too. The hills even had some snow this morning! I am happy to have a window in my cubicle so I can see the outside. I have a lovely tree outside my window that changes with the season.  The wind was blowing the rain sideways on to the window which is why I heard when the hail started. A co-worker and I had returned from a walk in the sun just an hour or so when all of the fun stuff started!.

We are supposed to have a short break in the rain starting tomorrow afternoon and until Sunday afternoon.

I am hoping that this will give me enough time to plant a few seeds in my raised beds. My Baker Creek order has arrived and I would like to get started on the cool weather items:

  • Sweet Pea Dolly Darden
  • Tonda di Parigi Carrots
  • Harris Model Parsnips
  • Lilac PomPom Poppy
  • Mother of Pearl Poppy
  • Mizuna Greens

This is by no means my full order. Other seeds such as tomato, watermelon, squash, okra, sunflowers, etc., will need to either be started first or wait until warmer weather to sow. I will post the varieties in the spring.

I received excellent news today on my latest blood work. I know that I won’t be doing chemo for at least the next 3 months. A CT scan and more blood work will follow then. It is a little crazy to try living each day and not thinking about what might happen 3 months down the road. Some of the weight I’ve been carrying is off my shoulders at least for a while. 2010 is looking good so far!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

