Watermelon Woman


Happy Birthday to me!
September 2, 2010, Thursday,10:42 pm
Filed under: Gardening, Vegetables | Tags: , , ,

September 3rd

Happily, I will make another year. 2010 has been a much better year than 09. I am still a survivor and been majorly busy at work with web redesign and other big projects. I haven’t yet figured out if I don’t write because I’m boring and have nothing to say or if I’m really depressed and withdrawing from everyone.

I don’t feel depressed so maybe I’m just boring. LOL! I’ve planted some greens and sweet peas. Most of my tomato plants, with the exception of one volunteer plant that is out of control, are either completely eaten by something or spindly and not producing. Changing where they were planted from last year didn’t seem to help. Something as eaten my only two pumpkins as well. It could have been the dog.

The oregano grew like crazy. When it grew to about 20 inches I cut them all and hung them to dry. I was surprised at how fast they were ready to put in a spice jar. I also had a little bit of French tarragon that I dried too. The smell is just divine. I will certainly try other herbs in the future.

The weather these days feel like Fall already. I miss the rain, one because it means I don’t have to water and clears the air and two, it is so much easier to pull weeds.

I visited a fairly new seed store in Petaluma (CA). It is a secondary store to Baker Creek Seeds in Missouri. The store is in a 1920-30’s former bank building. Really cute and spacious. Helpful people. I will go again in time to buy new Spring seeds.

Off to see my oldest son on Saturday but first a birthday dinner with the other two boys and daughter-in-law. And the best news I’ve had in a long time, I’m to be a grandmother! I am so over the top about it. My DIL sent a text message with a photo of the baby at 9 weeks. Can’t tell the sex yet. I do hope everything goes well. Looks like April due date.

Thanks for checking back and I will try to write on a regular basis again.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations on the grandchild! Sorry about the tomatoes. I felt very lucky to get some this year, but there have been years when I did not.

Comment by tempusflits

Thank you! It feels like Fall already. Generally, here in California we have warm weather into October but not this year.

Comment by watermelonpatch




Leave a Reply

